JUDICIAL DISTRICT NOMINATING COMMISSION

TENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

NOTICE OF JUDICIAL POSITION VACANCY

The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene on July 26, 2023, to interview and appoint a district magistrate judge to fill the vacancy on the Johnson County District Court, created by the June 8, 2023 retirement of the Honorable Robert G. Scott.

All applications for this position must be drafted on the current nomination form, which is available from the clerk of the district court in Johnson County. Nomination forms are available from the Clerk of the Appellate Courts (Topeka); at http://www.jocojnc.org/index.aspx.

An original and 15 copies of the completed nomination form, along with a like number of any supporting documents, together with one executed release form, should be delivered to:

Kevin P. Moriarty, Secretary 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission 7007 College Blvd., Ste. 430 Overland Park, KS 66211

All completed nomination forms and supporting documents must be received by Mr. Moriarty in paper format only by no later than NOON, on June 21, 2023. No documents will be accepted digitally or by fax.

NOTICE: The current nomination form is the one approved by the Commission on May 22, 2023.

The Commission welcomes recommendations of nominees to fill the position. Such recommendations should be made on the current nomination form, and submitted in paper format, along with any other information or credentials which may be relevant to the nominee's qualifications. Only nominees who agree to serve, if nominated, will be considered.

Please Note: The statutes require a district magistrate judge to be a graduate of a high school or secondary school or the equivalent; to be a resident of Johnson County at the time of taking the oath of office and maintain residency in Johnson County while holding such office; and to either be a lawyer admitted to practice law in Kansas or pass a certification examination given by the Supreme Court within 18 months, as provided by K.S.A. 20-334(b) and K.S.A. 20-337.

Justice Evelyn Z. Wilson, Chair

10th Judicial District Nominating Commission